Guidelines for Private and / or “For Profit” Trainers
1. 30 day + notice of program and range / classroom requirements.
2. Deposit for range / classroom, due upon date of 30 day notice, $100 for 1st day and $50 per each subsequent day of instruction.
3. Company and / or Personal “current” membership in the GFSSC.
4. Proof of insurance coverage ( $1,000,000 / $2,000,000 ) for instructors AND students ( see #8 below ).
5. Proof of “current” certification for ALL instructors, in disciplines being taught.
6. Need to schedule sufficient number of Certified Range Safety Officers for the “live fire” portions of the class, subject to the “written” approval of the GFSSC CRSO.
7. Any variations to “live fire” exercises, not generally allowed on the specific range, must be approved, in writing, by the GFSSC CRSO, prior to the exercise.
8. A $10 “educational” membership will be required of ALL students who are not members of the GFSSC. The $10 may be applied to “full” membership by the student, within 3 months of the class date.
Reviewed / Approved, GFSSC Board: June 7, 2011
Project Appleseed Shoot:
Four Project Appleseed Shoots are scheduled for this year. The dates for Appleseed 2013 are: January 12th - 13th; April 13th -14th; December 7th - 8th at the indoor range, Central Ave. West, Great Falls, MT AND July date TBA ( to be announced ) at the 200 yard outdoor range, Shooting sports Complex, north of Great Falls, MT. The Appleseed Project is an interesting mix of marksmanship and American Revolutionary history. Please refer to the following website for more information:
http://appleseedinfo.org/search-states.php...an> OR contact Paul Fischer at the following: email@example.com, 406-231-1500.
2013 Education Schedule:
The following courses will be offered this year at the GFSSC. This list is not complete and additions will be made. Enrollment is based upon payment, first paid, first enrolled. If you are interested in the class, it is recommended that you reserve your slot as soon as you have decided to attend. Please refer to the Education and Calendar sections for more complete info:
NRA Basic Pistol: February 16, 2013
GFSSC Concealed Weapon Class: Date: March 15-16, 2013: enrollment closed, class FULL
Project Appleseed Shoot: April 13-14, 2013
NRA Basic Pistol: April 20, 2013
MT CWP / Utah CFP: May 17-18, 2013
GFSSC Concealed Weapon Class:
This is NOT a beginner’s class, some handgun experience is strongly recommended!
Class minimum: 5, maximum: 20
a. To provide BASIC knowledge, attitude ( mind-set ), and skill set in owning and using a firearm in a safe manner AND to test that knowledge and skill in a classroom and “live” fire session.
b. To provide the student with a BASIC knowledge of Montana state, Cascade county, and Great Falls codes, statutes, and regulations regarding the carrying, and possible use of a concealed weapon
c. To instruct the student in the process of filing for their Montana Concealed Weapon Permit
a. An adult, age 18 years or older
b. MUST be a member in “good standing” in the community
c. MUST be allowed by law ( federal, state, and local ) to possess a firearm
d. A minor may attend the class with an adult student; however, the minor will not be allowed to test ( applicants for MT CCW must be a minimal of 18 yrs. of age )
e. A student must be physically capable of performing the skills required in the class.
i. We will attempt to accommodate “special needs” students to the “best” of our ability. If you have special needs PLEASE inform us at the time of enrollment.
f. Failure to abide by these guidelines will result in revocation of the “certificate of completion”
a. 12 hours of classroom and “live” fire instruction, with 1 hour lunch
i. Students must be present for and complete ALL sections of the class, in order to receive certificate
b. Classroom instruction, to include “hands-on” exercises
(1) questions and answers
c. “Open” book exam
d. “Live” fire training
i. Questions / comments
ii. Course evaluation
a. $80.00 for GFSSC members, payable upon receipt of course materials
b. $120.00 for non-complex members ( includes $10.00 for “educational” membership insurance coverage ). The “educational” membership lasts for the duration of the class. A student may apply the $10.00 to a “full” membership within a 3 month period after taking the class.
c. The Utah Concealed Firearm Permit ( CFP ) addendum is available to MT CWP students:
(1) student MUST be 21 years of age ( or turning 21 at time of application to Utah )
(2) additonal cost: $15.00 ( materials )
(3) additional classroom time ( approx. 1-2 hours, at end of MT CWP class )
(4) you MUST register for the CFP at enrollment!
d. Cost is NON-REFUNDABLE once the student has received the materials
d. If the student is unable to attend the class, tuition will be applied to a class held at a later date ( within a 6 month period ), no monetary refund
e. The tuition does not cover:
(2) magazines / speedloaders ( minimal of 2 )
(3) mag / speedloader pouch
(4) ammunition ( 150 rounds, factory ONLY, no reloads )
(5) holster, strong side ( NO cross draw, ankle, pocket , shoulder )
(6) heavy duty belt
(7) eye and ear protection
(8) appropriate clothing for weather ( may be outdoors )
(11) personal items
(12) special needs equipment
a. Enrollment begins at the time of class announcement and continues until 4 days prior to the class
b. Location: MT FWP Region 4 classroom, 4600 Giant Springs Road, Great Falls, MT AND MRSA indoor shooting range / classroom: Central Ave. West, Great Falls, MT.
i. Class begins at 18:30 ( 6:30 PM sharp Friday evening, at 08:00 ( 8:00 AM) sharp Saturday and will run until complete
ii. 1 hour lunch period, student is responsible for providing their own lunch,
(1) water, coffee, tea, snacks provided in AM
a. David Simpson, Director of Education / CRSO
P.O. Box 7, Ft. Shaw, MT 59443-007
(406) 264-5418 (h); (406) 799-5418 (c)
b. Keith Head, CRSO, GFSSC
2800 Bonita Dr. Great Falls, MT 59404
(406) 771-1243 (h); (406) 788-0635 (c)